SIDE LETTER

WHEREAS, the Kent State University and the Full-time Non-Tenure Track Faculty Unit of the Kent State Chapter of the American Association of University Professors (hereinafter FTNTT Unit) have a collective bargaining agreement (hereinafter FTNTT CBA) currently in effect; and

WHEREAS, this Agreement includes language which specifically governs the awarding of professional development funds to FTNTT faculty member from a Full-Time Non-Tenure Track Professional Development Excellence Pool; and

WHEREAS the professional development funding made available from this pool is called a Full-Time Non-Tenure Track Professional Development Award (NPDEA); and

WHEREAS, AAUP-KSU and the University, through this Side Letter, seek to honor the memory of Dr. Kimberly Cole Winebrenner, former Professor in the Department of English who passed away on December 3, 2020;

THE UNIVERSITY AND FTNTT UNIT HEREBY AGREE to the following concerning these awards :

- Effective immediately, the current Full-Time Non-Tenure Track Professional
 Development Excellence Awards (NPDEA) will now be formally designated the
 Winebrenner Full-Time Non-Tenure Track Professional Development Excellence Awards
 (Winebrenner NPDEAs).
- This designation is agreed to after consultation with Dr. Winebrenner's family.

The parties agree that this Side Letter to the Collective Bargaining Agreement with the FTNTT Unit shall remain in effect as long as these awards are included as a provision in the FTNTT CBA and is subject to extension and modification by the parties to the Agreement as mutually agreed in writing.

Melody Tinkersley
Senior Vice President and Provost

2/22/21 Date

Tracy Laux

FTNTT Unit President, AAUP-KSU

Date