Undergraduate Poetry Scholarship

Undergraduate Poetry Scholarship

1st Place - $1,500

2nd Place - $1,000

3rd Place - $500

These awards are nonrenewable. Undergraduates may reapply.  

  • The competition is open to any undergraduate currently enrolled at Kent State University.
    "Celebrating Our Own" reading
  • The scholarship awards are to Kent State University only. 
  • All entries must be original and unpublished.
  • The poem should be no more than 100 lines long.
  • The poet’s name should not appear on the poem.
  • A cover sheet should be included that lists the poet’s name, address, email and telephone number.  Entries missing any of this required information will not be accepted and will be returned to the poet.
  • Entries must be submitted between March 1, 2021, and April 1, 2021

Submit Online

Winners will be notified by May 1, 2021.

2021 Winners and Finalists

1st Place: Caitie Young for “Portrait of the Bisexual Woman”
2nd Place: Kaitlyn Engelhart for “Time to Fly”
3rd Place: Willow Campbell for “I get lost”

FINALISTS: Gabriella Clingman, William Smith, Olivia Farina, Angelina DiFranco