Name Email Campus Specialty
**indicates accepting students      
Sanjaya Abeysirigunawardena

sabeysir@kent.edu

Kent  
Julie M. Aultman

jmaultma@neomed.edu

NEOMED More on Aultman
Alexandru Almasan

almasaa@ccf.org

CCF  
Mohammad Ansari

mansari1@neomed.edu

NEOMED  
Jianxin Bao

jbao@neomed.edu

NEOMED Aging, Auditory Neuroscience, Gene Therapy, Stem Cell Therapy, Presbycusis, Noise-Induced Hearing Loss, Tinnitus. More on Bao
Soumitra Basu

sbasu@kent.edu

Kent Quadraplex structures, insulin binding, gene structures and function. More on Basu
Cornelia C. Bergmann

bergmac@ccf.org

CCF  
Heather K. Caldwell

hcaldwel@kent.edu

Kent Role of neuropeptides in regulating social behaviors and neuropsychiatric disorders. More on Caldwell
Yeong-Renn Chen

ychen1@neomed.edu

NEOMED Oxygen free radicals, Nitric oxide, oxidative postranslational modifications, mitochondrial biology in myocardial infarction. More on Chen
John Y.L. Chiang

jchiang@neomed.edu

NEOMED Molecular cloning expression and regulation of cytochrome P-450 isoenzymes. More on Chiang
William M. Chilian

wchilian@neomed.edu

NEOMED Angiogenesis, arteriogenesis, regulation of coronary blood flow, heart failure, stem cells, regenerative medicine. More on Chilian
Chi-hua Chiu Groff

cchiu5@kent.edu

Kent More on Chiu Groff
**Wilson C. J. Chung

wchung@kent.edu

Kent Neuroendocrine brain, androgens, fibroblast growth factor signaling. More on Chung
Robert J. Clements

rclement@kent.edu

Kent More on Clements
**Lique M. Coolen

jcoolen@kent.edu

Kent Mechanisms by which spinal cord injury affects urogenital and sexual function, neurobiology of addiction and understanding neural circuits that mediate female reproductive function and dysfunction. More on Coolen
Lisa N. Cooper

lcooper@neomed.edu

NEOMED More on Cooper
John W. Crabb

crabbj@ccf.org

CCF  
Christine M. Crish

ccrish@neomed.edu

NEOMED Glaucoma, neurodegeneration, and bone loss in Alzheimer's disease.More on Crish
Samuel D. Crish

scrish@neomed.edu

NEOMED Glaucoma, axonal transport, structure and function. More on Crish
Mark Dalman

mdalman@kent.edu

Kent  
Derek S. Damron

ddamron@kent.edu

Kent Cardiac myocytes, signal transduction, protein kinases, contractility, anesthetic agents, calcium, cardiovascular disease. More on Damron
Bansidhar Datta

bdatta@kent.edu

Kent More on Datta
**Dimitrios Davalos

davalod@ccf.org

CCF The Dimitrios Davalos lab studies the interactions between blood vessels, neurons and microglia in health and disease.
Angelo L. Delucia

ald@neomed.edu

NEOMED Molecular biology of DNA tumor viruses, genetics of viral DNA replication, viral etiology of cancer. More on Delucia
Jean Engohang-Ndong

jengohan@kent.edu

Kent  
Serpil C. Erzurum

erzurus@ccf.org

CCF  
**Jessica M. Ferrell

jfrancl@neomed.edu

NEOMED Long-term research interests lie in examining the pathological disruptions to bile acid physiology that contribute to alcoholic- and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. We are also interested in studying the interactions between liver/gut metabolism and Alzheimer’s disease, as Type 2 diabetes, cholesterol homeostasis, and gut dysbiosis are thought to be involved in disease progression, while bile acids and their receptors may be novel therapeutic targets.
Ernest J. Freeman

efreema2@kent.edu

Kent Neurodegeneration, vascular smooth muscle cell function, biochemistry of multiple sclerosis. More on Freeman
**Alexander V. Galazyuk

agalaz@neomed.edu

NEOMED Neuroscience of hearing. More on Galazyuk
Rebecca Z. German

rgerman@neomed.edu

NEOMED Neurophysiology and biomechanics. Regulation of feeding and pathophysiology of dysphagia. More on German
Candece L. Gladson

gladsoc@ccf.org

CCF  
Tariq M. Haqqi

thaqqi@neomed.edu

NEOMED  
James L. Hardwick

jph@neomed.edu

NEOMED  
Elda L.Hegmann

ehegmann@kent.edu

Kent More on Hegmann
Tobin L. Hieronymus

thieronymus@neomed.edu

NEOMED Pattern and process of skeletal evolution in vertebrates. More on Hieronymus
**Min-Ho Kim

mkim15@kent.edu

Kent Innate immunity and inflammation on wound healing and tissue repair. More on Kim
Woo Yang Kim

wkim2@kent.edu

Kent Brain development, Neurodevelopmental disorders, Autism, intellectual disability, anxiety, depression, Neural stem cell, neuron migration.  More on Kim
**Edgar E. Kooijman

ekooijma@kent.edu

Kent Biophysics protein/lipid interactions, physical chemistry of lipid structure and function, model membranes, neutral lipid storage (lipid droplets/adipocytes). More on Kooijman
Gary K. Koski

gkoski@kent.edu

Kent Immune system and cancer, vaccines, molecular mechanisms. More on Koski
Vijay B. Krishna

krishnv2@ccf.org

CCF  
Manabu Kurokawa

mkurokaw@kent.edu

Kent More on Kurokawa
**Sangeet Lamichhaney

slamiichh@kent.edu

Kent

Our lab is broadly interested in understanding how an organism responds to novel environments. We integrate a variety of interdisciplinary approaches, including comparative ‘omics’ (Genomics, Transcriptomics, Epigenomics and Metabolomics), together with experimental physiology to uncover the molecular basis underlying the processes of adaptation. More details about the research can be found in our lab website (https://theomicslab.wordpress.com/).

Yoon-Kwang Lee

ylee3@neomed.edu

NEOMED Structure and regulation of nuclear hormone receptors. More on Lee
Laura G. Leff

lleff@kent.edu

Kent Molecular ecology of bacteria, bacterial enumeration and identification. More on Leff
**William P. Lynch

wonk@neomed.edu

NEOMED Mechanisms of neurodegeneration, CNS gene therapy, RNA tumor virus assembly and pathogenesis, microglial developmental biology. More on Lynch
**Hanbin Mao

hmao@kent.edu

Kent More on Mao
**Ryota Matsuoka

matsuor@ccf.org

CCF

Developmental neuroscience, brain barriers, brain-blood communications, brain vascular cell heterogeneity, neurovascular morphogenesis, and cerebrovascular diseases. More on Matsuoka

**Jennifer A. McDonough

jmcdonou@kent.edu

Kent Regenerative medicine, mitochondrial dysfunction and epigenetic mechanisms in multiple sclerosis. More on McDonough
**Jeffrey G. Mellott

jmellott@neomed.edu

NEOMED Age-related changes to inhibitory circuitry in the auditory pathways.  More on Mellott
Michael Model

mmodel@kent.edu

Kent Apoptosis, cell water and volume regulation, membrane potential. More on Model
Xiaozhen Mou

xmou@kent.edu

Kent Metatranscriptomics of bacteria, pathogens in ecosystem. More on Mou
Devin Mueller

dmuell10@kent.edu

Kent Neural mechanisms of learning and memory that underlie drug use and emotional regulation. More on Mueller
**Colleen Novak

cnovak13@kent.edu

Kent Neural and endocrine mechanisms of activity thermogenesis in obesity. More on Novak
Christine M.  O'Connor

oconnoc6@ccf.org

CCF  
Vahagn Ohanyan

vohanyan@neomed.edu

NEOMED  
Moses O. Oyewumi

moyewumi@neomed.edu

NEOMED Drug delivery, nanotechnology, cancer, neurodegenerative diseases. More on Oyewumi
**Richard Piet

rpiet@kent.edu

Kent Neurophysiological mechanisms involved in regulating the activity of the gonadotropin releasing hormone (GnRH) neurons and their contributions to biological timing and fertility. More on Piet
**Helen Piontkivska

opiontki@kent.edu

Kent Comparative and evolutionary genomics, bioinformatics, molecular evolution. More on Piontkivska
Priya Raman

praman@neomed.edu

NEOMED Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying cardiovascular complications associated with diabetes and obesity; atherosclerosis; leptin; Thrombospondin-1. More on Raman
Erin Reed-Geaghan

ereedgeaghan@neomed.edu

 

NEOMED My lab is interested in the role of the immune system in Alzheimer’s disease (AD). Specifically, we seek to understand the ways in which the brain’s resident immune cells, microglia, contribute to the neuroinflammatory processes driving neurodegeneration. We believe microglia from men and women respond differently in AD, contributing to the sex differences in disease onset and progression, and we’re working on identifying the reasons for these differences. We are also interested in how these cells communicate with the circulating peripheral immune system, and the ways in which these interactions affect disease progression
**Merri J. Rosen

mrosen@neomed.edu

NEOMED Neural correlates of auditory perception: effects of hearing loss and experience during development. More on Rosen
Mary Russell

mrussel1@kent.edu

Kent Intermediate filament protein synemin, heart, protein kinases. More on Russell
Prabodh Sadana

psadana@neomed.edu

NEOMED Hormonal regulation of lipid metabolism. More on Sadana
Fayez F. Safadi

fsafadi@neomed.edu

NEOMED Osteoblast development and function, effects of hormones and growth factors. More on Safadi
Thorsten-Lars Schmidt

tschmi21@kent.edu

Kent DNA nanotechnology-based tools and materials for single-molecule biophysics and nanomedicine.  More on Schmidt
**Brett R. Schofield

bschofie@neomed.edu

NEOMED Functional anatomy of auditory pathways. More on Schofield
**Woo-Shik Shin (Austin)

wshin@neomed.edu

NEOMED

Novel combination antibacterial therapy against drug resistance ESKAPE pathogens. Drug repurposing and combinational approach to block abnormal protein aggregation in Alzheimer’s disease.

 

Our lab focuses on computational structure-based drug design and drug delivery system for Alzheimer's, Parkinson's disease and other degenerative disorders. Current research is driven by two key topics: How to develop new therapeutic approach for neurodegenerative and other brain diseases? How to design the blood-brain barrier shuttle peptides with neuronal specificity? 

Robert H. Silverman

silverr@ccf.org

CCF  
J.G.M. Thewissen

thewisse@neomed.edu

NEOMED Mammalian anatomy and evolution, morphological adaptations such as those for swimming and flight. More on Thewissen
Anthony Tosi

atosi@kent.edu

Kent More on Tosi
Bruce Trapp

trappb@ccf.org

CCF  
Sean Veney

sveney@kent.edu

Kent Behavioral neuroendocrinology, sexual differentiation of the brain, syrinx anatomy, neuroethology of birdsong. More on Veney
Srinivasan Vijayaraghavan

svijayar@kent.edu

Kent Signal transduction, sperm physiology, fertilization, contraception. More on Vijayaraghavan
**Jeffrey J. Wenstrup

jjw@neomed.edu

NEOMED Neural mechanisms of hearing, acoustic communication, including emotional responses to sound. More on Wenstrup
Jessica L. Williams

williaj39@ccf.org

CCF  
**Bradley D. Winters

bwinters@neomed.edu

NEOMED Cellular neurophysiology of brainstem sound localization circuits that process timing and intensity differences between the two ears. More on Winters
**Liya Yin

lyin@neomed.edu

NEOMED More on Yin
**Jesse W. Young

jwyoung@neomed.edu

NEOMED Comparative and developmental biomechanics of locomotion. More on Young
Ping Zhang

pzhang@neomed.edu

NEOMED More on P. Zhang
Yanqiao Zhang

yzhang@neomed.edu

NEOMED Regulation of lipid and glucose metabolism under normal and disease conditions. More on Zhang