Advancing the Larger Artistic Community Through Outstanding Work

Eight Kent State University School of Art faculty and alumni have been awarded the Ohio Arts Council’s Individual Excellence Awards for 2023. Full-time faculty members Davin Ebanks (3D), Peter Christian Johnson (Crafts), Arron Foster (2D), and Shawn Powell (2D) were selected for the award, as well as part-time faculty in Foundations, Sharon Koelblinger. Two School of Art alumni including Mark Keffer, B.F.A. Painting (2D) and Melissa English Campbell, M.F.A. Textiles (2D) were also included on the list along with Professor Emeritus Paul O’Keeffe

According to the Ohio Arts Council website, the Individual Excellence Awards are peer recognition of the artists for the outstanding work that exemplifies their specific discipline and advances the larger artistic community. These awards help to support the artists’ growth and recognize their work in Ohio and beyond. 

“The Ohio Arts Council is proud to support the wealth of talented artists who live and work in our great state. Every year, the Individual Excellence Awards highlight and recognize exceptional artistic achievement and creativity, demonstrating that you can build your career in the arts right here in Ohio,” said OAC Executive Director Donna S. Collins.

Seventy-five artists in total received an Individual Excellence Award. Applications are peer reviewed and selected based on the exceptional merit of the artist’s body of work. The Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award gives artists the resources to explore their art forms, develop skills, and advance their careers. 

Images: (top, left to right) "Crying, Nothing There" by Arron Foster; Peter Christian Johnson, "Proffer," 2022; and Shawn Powell's Parasol (red, yellow, blue, and black), 2022, acrylic on canvas, 40 x 40 inches. Photo Credit: Tim Safranek.

POSTED: Monday, February 13, 2023 02:02 PM
UPDATED: Monday, May 20, 2024 10:10 PM