Staff Awards and Recognitions

Congratulations to the following RecWell staff for the following awards and recognition.

Staff Member of the Year

Academic Year

Student Staff

Professional Staff

2015-16 Lauren Mazurkiewicz
(Guest Services)
Chris Baker
2016-17 Taylor Hurley
Juliann Montemayor
2017-18 Natalie Hensperger 
Elizabeth Michel
2018-19 Jessica Ross
Greg Bailey
2019-20 Trent Bontrager, Tanner Bontrager and Anthony Lijewski
(Ice Arena)
Chris Lukas
2020-21 None Jim Kraus
2021-22 Emma Smith 
Jim Underwood
2022-23 Bhargav Doddala
(Fitness & Wellness)
Erin Stock
(Aquatics and SRC VP)
Sue Barker

Career Exploration & Development 2023 Student Employee Awards Banquet

  • Brooke Schwerha (Operations): "Change Maker Award" in recognition of her impact as a distinguished disrupter to create positive change through her work. 
  • Jenna Gilbreath (Adventure Center): "Excellence in Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice Award" in recognition of her awareness, attitude, and ability to equitably engage and include people from diverse backgrounds in her work. 
  • Owen Dame (Adventure Center): "Sunshine and Positivity Award" in recognition of his positivity, kindness, and dedication to act in the interest of his workplace and community.
  • Chris Lukas: "Outstanding Supervisor Award" in recognition of his mentorship, leadership, and commitment to respect, trust, and student development in the workplace. 

Departmental Awards of the Year 2022-23

  • Emerging Leader Award:
    • Stephen Connor (Ice Arena)
    • Mary Nern (Kent State of Well-being)
    • Payton Schramski (Operations)
    • Taylor Smith (Guest Services)
  • Creative Innovator Award: Kennedy White (Adventure Center)
  • Ray of Sunshine Award: Annie Perrotta (Fitness & Wellness)
  • Student Ambassador Award: Alexis Reed (Adventure Center, SRC President)
  • Student Employee of the Year:
    • Bhargav Doddala (Fitness & Wellness)
    • Erin Stock (Aquatics & SRC Vice President)
  • Unsung Hero Award (Professional Staff):
    • Gautam Gupta (Lead IT Support Analyst)
    • Jan Rader (Accounting Specialist)

Area Student Employees of the Year 2022-23

  • Adventure Center: Owen Dame & Owen Seeger Destino
  • Aquatics: Seema Dhaher
  • Fitness & Wellness: Taryn Hilty
  • Guest Services: Keval Patel
  • Intramural Sports: Dhruv Nakhwa
  • Ice Arena: Olivia Atkinson
  • Kent State of Well-being: Rachel Cochran
  • Marketing: Ciera Davis
  • Operations: Brooke Schwerha