Current Student Scholarships

We offer a wide selection of scholarships for students who are currently enrolled in the School of Media and Journalism at Kent State. To be eligible for a scholarship, you must be an officially declared major in advertising, digital media production, journalism or public relations and be planning to graduate after August 2024. Scholarship awards are based on financial need, academic performance and professional promise as evidenced by your submitted work samples.

Media and Journalism Current Student Scholarship Application

New application process for 2024 - Deadline: March 15

This year, returning Media and Journalism students can apply for MDJ scholarships via ScholarshipUniverse.

ScholarshipUniverse Application and Portal

You will need to fill out a complete profile and application on ScholarshipUniverse. Apply  by Feb. 15 to be considered for the MDJ-specific scholarships you may be eligible for! 

Questions related to filling out the form should be directed to If you have any questions about the MDJ Scholarships, contact

Please note: All scholarships listed here require a minimum overall GPA of 2.7.

Available Scholarships

Please note: Not all of the School of Media and Journalism scholarships listed below are offered every year.

  • American Society of Business Press Editors Scholarship

  • Ronald Dean Clark Scholarship in Editorial Writing

  • Walton D. Clarke Endowed Scholarship

  • Press Club of Cleveland / Dick Kostic Scholarship

  • Robert C. and Helen Westcott Dix Scholarship

  • Roger F. Dreyer Memorial Scholarship

  • Christopher and Judith Everett Endowed Scholarship for Photography

  • William A. Fisher Scholarship

  • Albert E. Fitzpatrick Endowed Scholarship

  • Philip A. Macomber Memorial Scholarship

  • BethAnn McClain Scholarship

  • Robert G. McGruder Minority Scholarship

  • Devin C. G. Moore Memorial Scholarship

  • Douglass Moore Photography Scholarship

  • Frances B. Murphey Scholarship

  • The King Family Scholarship

  • Tom and Juanita Duke Endowed Scholarship in Public Relations

  • Paul A. and Sylvia P. Poorman Memorial Scholarship

  • Lisa Katz Pagel Scholarship

  • John L. Scott Broadcast Journalism Endowed Scholarship

  • Scripps-Howard Foundation/Herb Kamm Scholarship

  • Ralph W. and Bettie Smith Memorial Award

  • Robert Sorino Jr. Family Memorial Fund

  • Dr. Gene Stebbins/JMC Alumni Council Scholarship

  • James M. Sutherland Scholarship

  • William Sledzik Scholarship

  • Trudy and Allen Goodkin Scholarship

  • Robert K. Shaul Scholarship

  • Ralph C. Darrow Award

  • E. Zoe McCathrin Public Relations Scholarship

  • David A. Meeker Endowed Scholarship

  • PRSSA Fellowship Award

  • Ludel Sauvageot Scholarship

  • Ada and Roger Fidler Scholarship

  • Jeff Fruit Journalism Scholarship

  • Lloyd W. Hanson and Harvey E. Rahn Endowed Scholarship

  • William H. Oliver Fellowship in Public Affairs

  • JMC Alumni Council Legacy Endowed Scholarship

  • Paula Slimak Scholarship in Journalism and Mass Communication

  • Wallace H. and Peggy V. Stroud Endowed Scholarship

  • Loris Troyer Scholarship

  • Nancy E. Whitehead Journalism Scholarship

  • Dr. Richard M. Uray Broadcasting Endowed Scholarship

  • Dennis G. Cipriany Endowed Scholarship in Journalism and Mass Communication

  • The James and Barbera A. Vargo Scholarship for Investigative Journalism

Wallace J. Hagedorn Photography Scholarship

The School of Media and Journalism and the School of Visual Communication Design award up to $200,000 to photography students annually through the Wallace J. Hagedorn Photography Scholarship. In addition to the monies available to offset tuition costs for the most talented visual storytellers, this program-enhancing gift will also provide additional resources to enrich the student experience. To apply for this scholarship, visit ScholarshipUniverse.

Learn more about the Hagedorn Scholarship

Community/Outside Scholarships

Below are other opportunities for MDJ students, but they are not administered by the School of Media and Journalism and are not part of the MDJ application process. Application due dates for some scholarships begin in January so be sure to use the links below to find application instructions and deadlines.

Other Scholarships Open to MDJ Students
  • AAF-Cleveland. AAF-Cleveland awards scholarships to junior and senior students studying communications, marketing, advertising, graphic design, digital media, public relations, journalism and more. Apply at the AAF-Cleveland site.
  • AAF-Akron. AAF-Akron awards scholarships to junior and senior students studying communications, marketing, advertising, graphic design, digital media, public relations, journalism and more. Apply at the AAF-Akron site.
  • Ohio News Media Association Scholarships for journalism, advertising, marketing and communication students. Apply at the ONMA website.
  • Cleveland Association of Broadcasters Scholarship. Awarded to sophomores and juniors enrolled in a major related to broadcasting, journalism, media, communication, advertising, etc., from Carroll, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, Stark or Summit counties. Apply at the CAB Cleveland site.
  • College of Communication and Information (CCI) Study Abroad Scholarships. For CCI students taking a Study Abroad course. Learn more about Study Abroad scholarships.
  • The John S. Knight Scholarships. The John S. Knight Scholarships are awarded by the Akron Press Club and are open to all journalism students at Kent State University, Akron University, Hiram College and any local journalism student studying out of state. Apply at the Knight Scholars website.
  • The National Association of Black Journalists The National Association of Black Journalists will award two scholarships to undergraduate or graduate students with at least one year left in school. Apply at the NABJ site.