Multicultural and Diversity Committee

Mission Statement

The mission of the Kent State University, Department of Psychological Sciences, Multicultural and Diversity Committee (MDC) is to make a positive difference in the education of all students within the department through the promotion of an atmosphere of multicultural acceptance, competence, and diversity.



MDC's Constitution is a written document that establishes the rules and principles of the committee. The constitution defines the fundamental principles, and establishes the structure, procedures, powers and duties, of the committee.

Related Links

Alex Chong teaching high school Upward Bound students during the team-taught Psychology course provided for the 2015 Summer Upward Bound Program at Kent State University. This is one of the MDC's many activities conducted to promote an atmosphere of diversity.




2023 - 2024 MDC

Faculty Advisor: Mary Himmelstein (email)

President: Emily Rabinowitz (email

Past President: Keaton Sommerville

Chair of Undergraduate Events: Karen Wetzel

Vice Chair of Undergraduate Events and Programs: Chelsea Monheim

Chair of Graduate Events and Programs: Sam Cassidy

Vice Chair Graduate Events and Programs: Alexis McGhee-Dinvaut

Chair of Finance: Brittany Baugher

Vice Chair of Finance Emily Gawlik

Chair of Legacy: Lyubov Gavrilova

Vice Chair of Legacy: Karigan Capps

Chair of Resources: Urja Bhatia

Vice Chair of Resources: Hannah Duttweiler

Are you interested in joining the Multicultural and Diversity Committee or participating in activities? 

If so, please contact the President.  Thank you very much for your interest.