Academic Calendar

Fall 2022

Event Date
Fall international student orientation Wed, Aug 17, 2022
Fall graduate student orientation Thu-Fri, Aug 18-19, 2022
University convocation Mon, Aug 22, 2022
KSU Kickoff Mon-Wed, Aug 22-24, 2022
Fall classes begin Thu, Aug 25, 2022
Deadline for associate degree candidates to apply for December 2022 graduation Fri, Sep 2, 2022
Deadline for master's and doctoral degree and certificate candidates to apply for December 2022 graduation Fri, Sep 2, 2022
Labor Day (note 1) Mon, Sep 5, 2022
Deadline for bachelor's degree and undergraduate certificate candidates to apply for May 2023 graduation Thu, Sep 15, 2022
Fall classes end for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Sep 30, 2022
Spring classes begin for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Oct 3, 2022
Fall Break (note 2) Thu-Sun, Oct 13-16, 2022
Fall classes end for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Oct 28, 2022
Fall final examinations for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Fri, Oct 31-Nov 10, 2022
Veterans day observed (note 1) Fri, Nov 11, 2022
Spring classes begin for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Nov 14, 2022
Thanksgiving Break (note 2) Wed-Sun, Nov 23-27, 2022
Fall classes end for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Wed, Nov 23, 2022
Thanksgiving Day (note 1) Thu, Nov 24, 2022
Columbus Day observed (note 3) Fri, Nov 25, 2022
Fall final examinations for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Fri, Nov 28-Dec 9, 2022
Fall classes end Sun, Dec 11, 2022
Fall final examinations Mon-Sun, Dec 12-18, 2022
Deadline for bachelor's degree and undergraduate certificate candidates to apply for August 2023 graduation Thu, Dec 15, 2022
Fall commencement Fri-Sat, Dec 16-17, 2022
Holiday schedule (note 4) TBA
Presidents Day observed (note 5) Fri, Dec 23, 2022
Christmas Day observed (note 1) Mon, Dec 26, 2022
New Year’s Day observed (note 1) Mon, Jan 2, 2023

Calendar Notes

  1. Observed state-designated holiday; no classes are scheduled, and university offices are closed.
  2. No classes are scheduled during break; university campuses and offices are open.
  3. Columbus Day is a movable state-designated holiday, observed the day after Thanksgiving; no classes are scheduled, and university offices are closed.
  4. Kent State may operate on a holiday schedule during the last part of December. When that occurs, information will be communicated to faculty and staff by the Division of Human Resources.
  5. Presidents Day is a movable state-designated holiday, observed contiguous with Christmas Day; no classes are scheduled, and university offices are closed.

Spring 2023

Event Date
Spring classes begin for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Jan 3, 2023
Spring international student orientation Thu, Jan 12, 2023
Spring graduate student orientation Fri, Jan 13, 2023
Martin Luther King Jr Day (note 1) Mon, Jan 16, 2023
Spring classes begin Tue, Jan 17, 2023
Deadline for associate degree candidates to apply for May 2023 graduation Fri, Jan 20, 2023
Deadline for master's and doctoral degree and certificate candidates to apply for May 2023 graduation Fri, Jan 20, 2023
Spring classes end for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Feb 3, 2023
Summer classes begin for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Feb 6, 2023
Spring classes end for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Mar 10, 2023
Spring final examinations for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Fri, Mar 13-24, 2023
Deadline for bachelor's degree candidates to apply for December 2023 graduation Wed, Mar 15, 2023
Spring break (note 2) Mon-Sun, Mar 27-Apr 2, 2023
Summer classes begin for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, Apr 3, 2023
Spring classes end for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Apr 28, 2023
Spring final examinations for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Fri, May 1-12, 2023
Spring classes end Tue, May 2, 2023
Reading Day Wed, May 3, 2023
Remembrance Day (note 3) Thu, May 4, 2023
Spring final examinations Thu-Wed, May 4-10, 2023
Summer classes end for fourth-year Podiatric Medicine students Sat, May 6, 2023
Spring commencements Fri-Sat, May 12-13, 2023
Summer classes begin for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, May 22, 2023
Spring commencement for College of Podiatric Medicine TBA

Calendar Notes

  1. Observed state-designated holiday; no classes are scheduled, and university offices are closed.
  2. No classes during break; university campuses and offices are open.
  3. Remembrance Day (May 4, 1970): no final exams, classes or parts of classes are scheduled from 12 p.m. to 2 p.m.

Summer 2023

Event Date
Summer intersession classes begin Thu, May 18, 2023
Summer classes begin for first- and second-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon, May 22, 2023
Summer classes end for third-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, May 26, 2023
Memorial Day (note 1) Mon, May 29, 2023
Summer intersession classes end Wed, Jun 7, 2023
Summer I classes begin Thu, Jun 8, 2023
Summer II classes begin Thu, Jun 8, 2023
Summer classes end for second-year Podiatric Medicine students Thu, Jun 15, 2023
Deadline for associate degree candidates to apply for August 2023 graduation Fri, Jun 16, 2023
Deadline for master's and doctoral degree and certificate candidates to apply for August 2023 graduation Fri, Jun 16, 2023
Juneteenth National Independence Day observed (note 1) Mon, Jun 19, 2023
Summer classes end for first-year Podiatric Medicine students Fri, Jun 30, 2023
Summer final examinations for first-year Podiatric Medicine students Mon-Wed, Jul 3-12, 2023
Independence Day observed (note 1) Tue, Jul 4, 2023
Summer I classes end Wed, Jul 12, 2023
Summer III classes begin Thu, Jul 13, 2023
Summer II classes end Wed, Aug 2, 2023
Summer III classes end Wed, Aug 16, 2023
Summer commencement Sat, Aug 19, 2023

Calendar Notes

  1. Observed state-designated holiday; no classes are scheduled and university offices are closed.