Kent State University Announces Alumni Award Recipients

The Kent State University Alumni Association has announced the recipients of the 2015 Alumni Awards. These awards recognize and honor alumni who, through leadership, character and hard work, have made exceptional contributions in their chosen field, in their communities and at Kent State University.

The following alumni have been selected for these awards:

Larry Disbro, ’71, ’73; Master of Education, ’78 and Sandy Disbro, ’75; Kent State Advocacy Award. The Disbros reside in Mentor. Larry is a former educational administrator and Sandy a teacher.

Timothy Hunsicker, ’92, ’93; Master of Architecture, ’94; Distinguished Alumni Award. Hunsicker resides in Parma and serves as the missionary architect at the Association of Baptists for World Evangelism (ABWE) International Project Office.

Earl Miller, ’85; Professional Achievement Award. Miller resides in Somerville, Mass. and serves as a professor of neuroscience and associate director at the Picower Institute for Learning and Memory at MIT.

Abbie Morneault, ’12; Distinguished Citizen Award. Morneault resides in Dayton, Ohio as serves as teacher/advisor at Dayton Early College Academy.

Morgan Shields, ’14; Outstanding New Professional Award.  Shields resides in Boston, Mass. and is a Master of Science candidate at Harvard School of Public Health.

“The alumni association received many outstanding nominations that truly represent the diversity and success of our graduates,” said Lori Randorf, assistant vice president of Kent State’s Alumni Relations. “These alumni award recipients exemplify the characteristics of Kent State graduates and the impact they have on their professions and society.”

In addition to the alumni awards, one student award is given. This year’s Golden Flash recipient is Douglas DeFouw, Jr., a sophomore majoring in flight technology at Kent State’s College of Applied Engineering, Sustainability and Technology.

All award recipients were selected by a committee of Kent State graduates.

The award recipients will be honored at an awards banquet hosted at the Kent State University Hotel and Conference Center on Oct. 2, 2015.

For more information on the alumni award recipients or to attend the awards banquet, visit

To submit an award nomination, visit


Media Contact:
Joy Wesoloski, 330-672-5368,
Nancy Schiappa, 330-672-5368,


POSTED: Thursday, September 17, 2015 01:14 PM
Updated: Saturday, December 3, 2022 01:02 AM
Brenda Hudkins